re-inspiration


 

KEELY02

 

There has been a freshness and newness that has taken over my hairdresser brain.  While merely months ago, I felt like this was the end, like it was time to quit and move on to something different…today I find my thoughts moving from idea to creative idea.  Ahhh!!  New-ness!  I feel like a beginner again, only a beginner with confidence and the desire to know more…to know all.  The possibilities really are endless.

A state of mania.

I worry that this inspiration and thirst to create will end as quickly as it has arrived…and so I must work tirelessly on keeping the ideas alive and in motion.  I must work on allowing one idea to feed into the next idea and to never let that fire die down.  I’ve got projects going on in the basement and sink and sketchbook.  I’ve got hair on the brain.  I’ve got art on the brain.

I am going to dive deep into this industry that I’ve been sort of hiding in for about 10 years.  I’ve never really wanted to put myself out there as a hairdresser before.  I’ve always secretly thought it was this fleeting thing…this day job…even though I do enjoy it immensely.  I want to take chances and enter contests and create wild images.  I want to lift up my salon.  I want to collaborate with other artists and push the boundaries of what beauty is…of what art could be.

Has it really taken 10 years for these two parallel careers to collide?  Have I really separated them that much in my head, knowing full well that they are supposed to work together?  It’s strange….

Let’s do this.

Leave a comment