Masters of the Craft


IMG_20151003_081158

There’s something-a-brewing!!

I have to admit…this education opportunity kind of just fell into my lap.  It’s funny how sometimes when you’re ready for a door to open, it just opens.  Like, no questions….just opens right up.

I have to give a little credit to my bootcamp situation.  Without it, I wouldn’t have opened myself up and put myself out there.  I wouldn’t have signed up for facebook again and reconnected with many supportive people.  I wouldn’t have seen the link for this class….a class that is right up the alley I’m striving to open myself up to: the world of photography, fashion, and oddball design.  It’s almost as if that path was not meant to work out….like it was leading me to this path.  Strange how things really do have a way of working out.

A few months ago I tried to spark some creative photoshoot work at my salon.  It’s been working out pretty well, especially since we’re all so very new to it.  I feel like we are just as talented and artsy fartsy as the rest of them.  I still crave more knowledge of the whole process.  Then this class pops up on my facebook feed.

At first, I was skeptical.  Most links from facebook aren’t reliable.  The more I investigated, the more I was intrigued.  See, I’m so new to all this high fashion, New York, editorial type of work that I didn’t even know who this Sam McKnight was.  Thanks to Google, I learned that this is no man who would be up to a scam.  This man is legit.  This man creates runway looks for Balmain and for Karl Lagerfeld of Chanel!  This man styles spreads in magazines like Vogue, W, and Allure!  This guy is the real deal.

I was inspired.

There was an application process and I’m proud to say my 4 favorite images from the past 4 months earned me a spot in the class.  It starts next week and to be quite honest, I don’t really know what to expect.  I think it might work out to my benefit how out of the loop I am…then I can really just focus on making really cool work and learning and not getting caught up in who these people are and how much pull they have in the world of high fashion.

Because….I’m not very high fashion…but I’m not low fashion either.  Ha.

 

2 thoughts on “Masters of the Craft

Leave a Reply

