performance anxiety


So I’m all enrolled in my online Screenwriting class!  I received all my information and my first week’s assignments.  It feels pretty fricking great to have a legitimate project to work on again.  I think that I work  much better when I have a small amount of creative guidance, prompts, and deadlines.

Deadlines for sure.  Deadlines = discipline.  I work well with a small amount of pressure.  Too much and I pretty much just drink coffee to the point of migraines.  I also have ridiculously high standards for myself and typically will tear out all of my eyebrows mulling over the mundane details even before I begin.  The hairs fall neatly onto my yellow legal pad with one sentence written, scribbled out, and rewritten another way with a few bullet points below it.  Bullet points that turn into stars.  That’s the beginning of what some people call: the creative process.

Others call it procrastination.  Others might call it writer’s block.  Others, still, might like to call it ‘Don’t quit your day job because the scratches on this legal pad ain’t never making you any money.’

At any rate, I’m at a loss.  I have many ideas.  I have tons of inspiration for characters.  I also have many silly situations that I could use in a script.  Believe it or not, I also have things that I could write about that aren’t funny at all….things that are actually quite serious and deep.  Its true!  At this moment, I’m pulling my eyebrows out over genre!

Genre!  **silly side note, my brother and I always cracked up at the way Alex Trebek pronounced genre…it sounded like shawn but with a g-like and z-like hum to it.

I was set!  Here, I thought I was only interested in writing humor and comedy scripts…and now I’m trying to get all mushy?  What is happening?

If I start talking about writing action movies with Liam Neeson…please put me out of my misery (love you, Liam!).

Leave a Reply

