Can dreams come true?


I like weird dreams.  Dreams that you can barely even explain…you know the ones.  When you say the words out loud, trying desperately to paint the picture of what happened and where you were but it wasn’t there, you feel like a complete fool.

This dream is not quite like that.

It begins here:

I’m sitting at a lunch table in my high school gymnasium.  I remember the blue circle seats.  I was sitting with someone I knew, but I can’t recall who it truly was.  It felt like we were friends.

I glanced over my left shoulder and saw my mother at the head table, near the stage.  I saw her from behind.  I recognized her twisted bun.  A man approached her table and hunkered down to her left her.  I gasped.  My heart began to beat faster and I stood up.  I shot up, actually.

Next thing I know, I’m crouched to my mom’s right side saying ‘Want to introduce me to your friend?’  I have some shit-eating grin on my face as I look to him for the answer and not my mom.  My mom was merely the portal.

He smiles and opens his arms as if to say ‘come and sit on my lap.’  I did not sit on his lap.

It’s Eddie.  Eddie fucking Vedder.

We proceed to chat for approximately 4 sentences about my high school gym and how great it is.

Blink of the eyes and I’m back in my blue circle lunchtable seat with a co-worker…different person than was initially sitting at my table.  She’s gushing and asks me if I gave him one of my business cards.  I hadn’t.  I felt completely deflated and totally elated at the same time.

The dream lasted mere moments in the 5 minutes I snoozed back to sleep after my alarm went off.  Interesting all the things that can transpire in 5 minutes in your brain, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

