Snack obsession


image

Popcorn! 

Not that chemically flavored, fat, microwave junk (which is delicious sometimes, I admit)…but homemade stovetop popcorn!!

I’m obsessed. I’ve made some every day for the past 4 days. I had to buy more kernels.  I will tell you, buying kernels in bulk is so much cheaper than that microwave stuff anyway. And tastier…because you can control the taste and the sassy factor. 

So I use a medium sized pot. I cover the bottom in coconut oil and a layer of white popcorn kernels.  I’d say it’s about a quarter of a cup of kernels.  Enough to almost fill the bottom but not too many so they overlap each other. 

You don’t want it to overflow! 

You need a cover too.  Otherwise your popcorn will fly all over the kitchen and burn your toes and arms. 
Crank up the heat and wait until you hear a pop.  Shake the pot around a bit.  Then those pups will really start popping.  Once the popping slows, shake around again and turn off the heat or it’ll burn.

Done. Takes about 5 minutes.  Salt it right away so it sticks to the oil.

Enjoy while warm.  Enjoy 7 days a week.  I know it sounds like a pain in the ass to make, but it really isn’t and it’s fun to watch the little fluffies fill up the pot.  Plus coconut oil is way better than that yellow, chemical sludge that is slathered on those microwave bags. Sick

Leave a Reply

