Please don’t buy me candles


I think candles are stupid. 

In the old days, they had a purpose.  Light!  Nowadays….what are they for? Aromatherapy? Ambiance? 

Stupid. 

Most of the candles on the market are made with synthetic aromas anyway…and do not have any aromatherapy benefits.  Your body has a totally different reaction to ‘real vanilla’ versus stupid vanilla ice cream scent from whatever dumb candle shop. 

And people buy them like crazy!!  What do you do with them?  Do you honestly run a bath and read a book of sonnets by candlelight?  Do you make love by candlelight?  Eat?  Clean?  Watch tv? 

I apologize if this is offensive.  Candles just aren’t for me.  I must admit that I did write introspective poetry by candlelight when I was 16 and troubled.  I would also drip the wax and see what shape it made…that’s fun. 

I now pretend to like them for certain people.  I think they look nice at weddings.  That’s it. 

Whew.  I’m glad I got it off my chest.  It’s been bothering me for years.  Years!!! 

4 thoughts on “Please don’t buy me candles

  1. Writing is such good therapy :o) I’m glad you’ve thrown off that burden at last.
    (I am not writing this by candlelight.)

Leave a Reply

