I wish people would stop telling me how tired they are


Is there anyone that you know that gets a sufficient amount of sleep and nutritious food and energetic exercise every day?  Like they feel refreshed and energized every single fricking day?

Vegan Yoga instructors don’t count.

Of course there are those select few peppy co-workers that always seem to be in the brightest cheeriest of moods, right?  Maybe they don’t really get enough rest….or maybe they have mimosas and psychedelic-mushroom-egg-white omelettes every morning.  Doesn’t sound half bad, right?  Everything would be sparklier.

I have found that people who get adequate amounts of rest don’t seem compelled to tell everyone the next day.  No one comes in and says I’m so rested!  I feel so energetic!  I slept the recommended number of hours last night and had a nutritious breakfast and I am ready for this day!! 

No, what do we all have to hear?

I’m soooo tired.

I only slept (fill in the blank) hours last night.  Feel sorry for me.

Do we really have to do this?  Can’t we put our heads down and take a nap instead? 

I admit, I admit, I admit…that I, too, have been known to complain once or twice about the lack of energy.  However, I’ve got quite a lot going against me there.  I’ve basically diagnosed myself with Seasonal Affective Disorder/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Mild Depression/ Anxiety/ Exhaustion/Dehydration and I’m also a Rage-a-holic.  So, yeah, I get a little sleepy.

Here’s what I don’t do:  tell every single person that I encounter during the day how tired I am.  Because at the end of the day, I know that no one really gives a fuck.  They don’t!  They sure don’t.

And I really don’t give a fuck if anyone else is really tired.  No, I don’t…and I don’t want to pretend to be sad for them.  It’s perfectly ok to be tired.  Hell, I’m tired even when I’m not tired.  But when there is absolutely nothing that I can do to solve that problem for that person, there really is no dire need to share.

 

4 thoughts on “I wish people would stop telling me how tired they are

  1. i think what people really mean to say is, “i don’t really want to be doing this. i’d rather be somewhere else.” we don’t really feel very tired when we are happy with what were doing at the moment. like i don’t feel tired when i have a donut in my mouth 🙂

Leave a Reply

