rental car


So I’ve been driving a little Chevy rental for about a week now while my snowplowed car gets fixed.  Pretty sure it’s going to be at least 2-3 weeks before it’s done.  Bummer.

In the meantime, I am super paranoid of anything happening to the rental car.  If it gets fucked up, then I have to shell out even more dollars for that.  I’ve been anal about the kids and their feet on the seats, and I drive like a little wuss.  I just imagine scraping alongside of a wall or getting rear ended by someone or rear ending someone in front of me.  I am paranoid that I will bust a tail light or smash a window.

In all of the years I’ve been driving, none of these things have happened to me and I don’t see them happening now just because of the car rental.  But this paranoid feeling won’t go away.  Every time I get in that thing I think it’s the trip that will leave me broke.

I am paranoid about other drivers swerving into me and changing lanes without looking in their blindspot.  I also imagine things happening to it while it’s parked…like being towed or ran into or keyed.  Seriously.  I waste so much time in my brain worrying about things that will most likely never happen.  And I know it.  And it’s silly.

And here I go to drive it again.  Maybe this will be the trip that it gets smashed…

One thought on “rental car

Leave a Reply

