2011…change back.


My guess is you want to change in 2011?  You want to achieve some sort of a goal?  You want to be happier, you want to spend more time with the people that mean something to you, you want to enjoy your time while you’re here on this globe?

I should read fortunes for a living.  Wouldn’t it be easy to make up fortunes??  Especially around New Year’s?  Screw the resolutions!

Here’s what I’m going to do in 2011.  I’m going to change back.  Yeah, you heard me.  I’m changing back into a person that I used to be…that looking back, was me at my absolute best.  Why not?  Of course I can’t be exactly that person.  That person was 15 pounds heavier (yeah, that doesn’t have to change), no kids, no relationship to nurture, I smoked a lot of cigarettes and looked cool doing it,  and had all the time in the world to be creative.  I had all the time in the world to be a forward thinker….and I did.  I saw no end to what I could do.  I saw no boundaries to what I could achieve.  No limits.

I feel as though a lot of people want to change a lot about who they are when it comes time for a new year.  Why try to change everything?  It’s all those funny little things that drive you crazy that make you who you are.  Right?  If you get mad because the salsa is on the wrong shelf in the fridge….or if you always stay up too late reading…or if you smoke…or enjoy a few cocktails…or swear too much.  Those things are you.  I suppose you might want to moderate things.  I mean, you can’t survive on swearing and smoking alone.  Wouldn’t that be cool?  Fuck, this shit is the fucking best! Maybe…maybe in college some of us survived on that.

This year, embrace it!  Say, I’m going to be myself. I’m going to be more of myself than ever.  I’m going to change back to my favorite self! Resolutions are stupid!

I am so contradictive…aren’t I?  On my recap of 2010, I think I said onward and forward.  Now I say bring back the past.  I even confuse myself.

Leave a Reply

